Prior to becoming Merchant Taylors’ Prep in September 2015, the school was known as Northwood Prep and/or Terry’s. The school was founded by Francis Terry in 1910, its original location being on the premises of St. John's Church, Northwood. As the school grew in numbers, new accommodation was found, first in Eastbury Road and then at its present site (Moor Farm) in 1982. Since this move, significant improvements to the site have been made, including purpose-built facilities for the teaching of nursery age and early years pupils, science, physical education and games, design and information technology, music and the performing arts.
Dr. K. McNerney,
Head of Prep School
Our Royal Heritage is no idle boast. Every day, our staff, pupils and parents walk in the footsteps of great historical figures. A visit to our heritage display in the main car park will provide an insight into the importance of the site. The Manor of the More, an ancient manor house, once stood in the grounds of the school.
The architectural remains lie preserved under the sports fields. Although not mentioned in the Domesday Book, it is known to have been among the manors in south-west Hertfordshire given by King Offa to the abbey of St. Albans at its foundation in about 793. Later residents at The More included Edward IV, Cardinal Wolsey, Henry VIII and Catherine of Aragon. A peace treaty between England and France was signed here in 1525. Whilst we are proud of the school’s historical associations, we are equally keen to remain focused on contemporary educational issues as well as being committed to future excellence in our vision and our planning.
The school occupies an enviable site covering some 15 acres, with superbly equipped classrooms and other teaching facilities. These are either housed in stylishly converted Grade II listed farm buildings or in new developments such as the Pre-Prep and Sports Hall. This unique setting is an enormous asset and resource as we seek to deliver a high quality education to our pupils.